Second Chances

I bought a nice hour glass from Daiso recently, which I will always play with from time to time. I enjoy looking at the process of distilling the sand, how it trickles so slowly through the neck with each passing seconds. It is an instrument that reminds me that time and tide waits for no man, and time is within my control: I either choose to waste time or to make full use of it- and every passing moment lost is lost forever… When I inverted the hour glass, it is a replay, again and again.

At that instance, it brought me to 2 bible verses:

(1) This vision is for a future time. It describes the end, and it will be fulfilled. If it seems slow in coming, wait patiently, for it will surely take place. It will not be delayed. – Habakkuk 2:3

Seemingly dashed dreams; seemingly unfulfilled promises; seemingly lost hope- Some of us have been waiting for something, for a very long time, and it seems like eternity. Some of us ever wondered, “Have I missed His Divine appointment?”, “Have I messed up somewhere?”, “What went wrong?”, “Did I take the wrong path?” and the many head-prodding questions. We have failed to apprehend the indisputable truth that God cannot contradict Himself with what He has written in His Book. We have to first understand that God’s timetable is not the same as ours. Lastly, we can still hope in God who is the God of all seasons- To every thing there is a season, and a time to every purpose under the heaven. (Ecclesiastes 3:1, do read more on the same passage). The Study Bible expands Habakkuk 2:3, “For the vision is yet for the appointed time; It hastens toward the goal and it will not fail. Though it tarries ,wait for it; For it will certainly come, it will not delay.”

While I inverted the hour glass, God seemed to be telling me that He is the God of second chances:

(2) I went down to the potter’s house, and there he was working at his wheel. But the jar he was making did not turn out as he had hoped, so he crushed it into a lump of clay again and started over. Then the word of the Lord came to me saying, “Can I not, deal with you as this potter does?” declares the Lord. “Behold, like the clay in the potter’s hand, so are you in My hand.” – Jeremiah 18:3-6

Surely we made mistakes all the time. We will all messed up, from time to time. That is the fallibleness of humankind. “Will God give me another chance if I missed His Best Gift (whether a job offer, a relationship, an opportunity etc.) for the first time?” Refer to the last verse above, and retrieve the key- “STARTED OVER”. Other bible translations offer “made another again”, “reworked”, “remade” and “formed again”, which you can take heart that God gives second chances, and it will still be His Best for you.

Leave a Reply

